Writing and the Holidays

The holidays are upon us, and I’m resolved to not feel guilty about my slumping productivity.  I got a fair amount of revising done today, but it was the exception rather than the rule this week.  I even “stole” time away from writing to start getting the guest room in order — even though my brother won’t get here for over a week.

At least I’m getting my exercise.  I bought a Treaddesk a few months ago.  It’s a treadmill I can use while working at an elevated desk and I’m using it right now as I write this.  I bought it because I have a little arthritis in my lower spine and sitting for long periods is uncomfortable for me.  The Treaddesk lets me blog and check my email while allowing me to vary my posture.  With a little luck it will help keep those holiday pounds at bay, too.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Writing and the Holidays

  1. I have just scheduled my writing (and reading) around holidays. I think it is important to spend time with family during this time of year and all the preparations are a part of that. Good luck with your writing and enjoy your holiday.

  2. The treaddesk looks interesting. Do you like it? I have a hard time imagining what it would feel like to try to write while walking.

    • It’s ever so slightly distracting, but as I use it more, the effect is less. Based on advice I read on a blog about it, I only walk at 1.5 mph, much slower than I would walk outdoors.

      I didn’t buy one of their desks, BTW. I thought they were overpriced, so I bought a cheep desk at Office Depot and Brian and I added leg extensions to bring it up to the correct height. That only works if you want a fixed height surface, though.

Leave a Reply

