Writer’s Block

I don’t think I’ve ever suffered from the dread WB, but maybe I’m just not clear on the definition.  There have been times that I’ve felt stuck, or the progress was VERY slow.  Both times I resisted my critique partners’ suggestions that I work on something else for a while.  This was probably foolish on my part.  If the same principle holds true as when you’re trying to remember something just out of reach, it would have been better to think about something else for a while.  My subconscious might have figured out the problems more quickly if I had.

The times when I’ve stumbled were when 1) I was unclear on who’s story I was telling, and 2) when I was trying to be “commercial.”  I’ve heard from more than one writer that the latter can kill your desire to write faster than anything.

I fixed number 1 by revising the first 12 chapters of Forbidden Talents and excising an interesting but unnecessary character.  (Don’t worry Matt, someday you’ll get your story told!) It was a painful decision, but once made the story began to flow almost effortlessly.

In the second instance, I just plowed slowly forward on Lightbringer.  I didn’t want to take a break from it because I didn’t want to lose the thread, but I was sure glad to write THE END.

1 Comment

Filed under writing

One response to “Writer’s Block

  1. I’ve always considered writer’s block as simply being stuck and I get over it by working on a different part of a project or working on a different project. Other people see writer’s block as the inability to write anything but I think that’s a little too extreme. Good luck with your writing.

Leave a Reply

