Self Improvement

A few years ago I read an article that mentioned a man who studied a new subject every year.  I’ve always liked that idea, but I’ve never acted on it.  I have so many interests that it’s hard to settle on just one to concentrate on. (Do I learn a new language?  To dance?  Sing?)  I’ve read about investing, psychology, and medicine just for fun.  In researching my books I’ve read about Vikings, pueblo Indian culture, and angels among other topics.  But I’ve never devoted myself to study one particular topic for an entire year.

So this is the year.  I’m not going to make a very in depth study of it, but I’m committing to read more poetry.  I used to be in a critique group with a poet and a woman who could recite lines from many poems by memory.  Their enthusiasm reminded me of how beautiful and moving poetry could be.  My goal is to read at least one poem a week and spend some time thinking about it.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

5 Comments

Filed under Life

5 responses to “Self Improvement

  1. Benita

    Our book club just did a month on poetry. It was dismaying to see how many otherwise literate women had been permanently turned off from poetry because of ham-handed literature teachers who pushed them to read astoundingly long and dull poems and/or who required them to read VERY SPECIFIC meanings/metaphors/etc. behind poems.

  2. Have you picked out an anthology, or are you planning to graze as the eye wanders?

    (I initially typed “I wanders,” and almost left it…)

    —L.

    • I’m starting with The Erotic Spirit and opened it randomly to Walt Whitman. I read “A Woman Waits for Me” and two selections from “I Sing the Body Electric.” “A Woman …” is pretty sexist, but then the poor guy was living in the 19th Century so I’ll cut him some slack. 🙂 I loved the line, “Bridegroom night of love working surely and softly into the prostrate dawn,” from “I Sing….”

  3. One should always strive for self improvement in any aspect of your life.

Leave a Reply

