A Reason for Everything

Yes, there’s a reason for everything.  It’s called “Cause and effect.”  Tectonic plates shift:  earthquake.  Cells go haywire:  cancer, or auto-immune disease.  God does not curse us because He’s a pissy micro-manager who hasn’t got anything better to do with His time than punish us for our mistakes or the mistakes of our great, great, great grandfathers.  Not my God, anyway.

People who believe such things are hoping to make sense of the randomness of reality.  They want to think they have some level of control over what happens to them.  “If I do things just right I won’t get raped, or get cancer.  Only bad people have houses fall on them.”  We all know the Witch of the West was Wicked, right?

I recently heard a woman say her tragic loss happened “for a reason.”  I don’t believe that, and to some extent I believe what she really meant was, “We can learn from even the most horrible experiences.”  That I do believe.

No experience is meaningless, unless we let it be.

1 Comment

Filed under Life

One response to “A Reason for Everything

  1. Benita

    Yes, I think “I am able to find meaning in all circumstances” is a more positive way to live.
    I am thinking of Mother Theresa who said something like “I know God won’t give me anything I can’t handle but sometimes I wish he didn’t trust me so much.” The corallary is to want God to think you are weak and incapable so that nothing terrible or burdensome will happen to you.
    It is terrifying and yet oddly freeing to live with the notion that you can only control so much. That means that truly horrific things can happen to you with absolutely no say-so on your part.
    But, then again, truly miraculous and delightful things can happen without you having to “earn” or “deserve” them as well…

Leave a Reply

