Wednesday Review: Song of Scarabaeus

Sara Creasy‘s debut science-fiction novel rocks!  I completely blew my schedule yesterday because I didn’t want to put it down.  My biggest disappointment with it is that I now have to wait for the sequel to come out.

I grew up devouring science-fiction and fantasy, and even though I’ve been reading more romance in the last few years, this genre is my first love. (I consider SF and F to be one genre because I see it as a continuum — and they’re shelved that way in the store. :-))  I love SF and fantasy because it explores what it means to be human by stretching the boundaries of our expectations and the environment.  Creasy does a fabulous job of examining our moral obligations to each other in a universe where teck invades every aspect of life.  It’s very rare to find a hard SF book with such excellent characterization.  Add that to a fast paced plot and a touch of romance and you have a winner.

I hope someone nominates Song of Scarabaeus for a Hugo Award because it’s that good.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book reviews

Leave a Reply

