The Times, They Are a’Changing

With that title you’re probably expecting me to write about how electronic books are encroaching on traditional publishing’s turf.  (They are, but not that fast.  Only 1.6% of Tim Ferris’s bestseller The 4 Hour Work Week‘s sales come from ebooks.) But you’d be wrong.  No, today I’m talking about something more personal.

My husband is retiring in six weeks.  He’s young still, only fifty-five, but we’re both of the opinion that life can be short and the extra money from staying where he is isn’t worth enduring the aggravation of his workplace.  He’s had a long career (33 years) with the same company, and most of that time he’s enjoyed his work.  But the last few years, and especially this year, the environment has become toxic.  So sayonara, baby — he’s out of there.

I’m not worried about him being underfoot.  He’s got too many of his own interests for that.  What I’m worried about is that without all the stress he’s been carrying, he’ll revert to the fun guy I married.  I can see it happening already as the anticipation of freedom lights his face.  It’s only been two days since he set the date, but already he’s laughing more.

Where will I find the self-discipline to get my work done, with a happy, playful man around the house?

4 Comments

Filed under Life, writing

4 responses to “The Times, They Are a’Changing

  1. Where will I find the self-discipline to get my work done, with a happy, playful man around the house?

    First off, huzzah!!
    Second, thinking back to the time when my other half was taking a mini-retirement and was “underfoot” so to speak, I suspect self-discipline will go in waves. Maybe be even be more productive if other parts of your life are increasingly so? Either way, I can think of worse challenges to your writing time 😉 Congrats!

  2. Congrats to B on his retirement!

Leave a Reply

