Poetry Monday: “The Zen of Housework” by Al Zolynas

I’ve begun reading The Poet’s Companion by Kim Addonizio and Dorianne Laux.  I was so impressed with Laux’s poems “The Thief” and “The Lovers” that when I saw she’d co-written a book about the pleasures of writing poetry I pounced on it.

In the first few pages they talk about writing about what you know, and how even the ordinary can communicate the extraordinary.  To illustrate, she includes “The Zen of Housework” by Al Zolynas (1945- ).  While washing dishes the poet observes:

My hands lift a wine glass,
holding it by the stem and under the bowl.
It breaks the surface
like a chalice
rising from a medieval lake.

I love this.  It’s unexpected, accessable, and beautiful.  I hope I can incorporate more imagery like this in my own writing.  This is the reason I wanted to read more poetry this year.

6 Comments

Filed under poetry, writing

6 responses to “Poetry Monday: “The Zen of Housework” by Al Zolynas

  1. That made me see The Lady of the Lake! 🙂

  2. Al Zolynas

    Frankie,

    Thanks for quoting and commenting on my poem–and for providing a link to it. (Google Alerts let me know).

    Nice Blog. Good luck with your writing.

    Al Zolynas

  3. Chinh Bui

    Thank you for “seeing” what the others can’t. I think that most poet “see” with their hearts, not with their eyes!

Leave a Reply

