Making a List, Checking it Twice

I don’t know where I’d be without my lists.  I make a list every week to keep track of what I need to do, and what I’ve accomplished.  And when life gets particularly busy, I break down my weekly list and create a new list each day.

Keeping a list reduces my stress level.  I no longer have a dozen things swirling around in my head popping up at odd moments vying for my attention.  When my to-do’s are written down the looming cloud is manageable.  I can compare each item to all the other things I have to do:  Is it urgent?  Is it important?  Can someone else do it?

Just as important is knowing what I’ve done.  Before I started keeping lists I’d reach the end of the week knowing I’d been busy, but without much idea of what I’d accomplished.  Now I know I haven’t been wasting my time.  Or that I have, and need to mend my evil ways. 🙂

There are many software programs out there that can help with organizing your time and keep track of recurring obligations, but I haven’t yet put it on my list to try one of them.  For now, the old analog stand-by, paper and pen, works for me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

