What Are You Waiting For? An Invitation?

I’ve been reading a lot of motivational books about thinking and acting outside the little boxes we build for ourselves lately.  It’s a subject that interests me because I have my own little boxes, and because I agreed to give a talk about The 4-Hour Work Week to my local Romance Writers of America chapter last Saturday.  (It went pretty well, if I do say so myself.)  I like 4HWW a lot, but I kept finding other books by people with slightly different perspectives, so I just kept reading and assimilating info.

One quote I came across made me get back to the gym today.  “The lights will never be green all at the same time.”  I have a bunch of things I need to get done this week.  As Ferris recommends, I’ve set myself a short deadline for some significant projects, so I could have made a good case for not having time to work out.  I could just wait until next week….

But the lights will never be green all at the same time.  Next week there will something else that urgently “needs” my attention more.  Here’s another quote from 4HWW:  “Someday is a disease that will take your dreams to the grave with you.”

I decided my health was more important and went to the gym.

I have believed for a long time that people find time for what’s important to them.  It’s just that sometimes we need a wake-up call to jolt us out of sleepwalking.  We get into routines of behavior and thought and forget that we once wanted something more than what we’re doing now.

So wake up!  No one will give you permission (or an invitation) to pursue your dreams.  What excites you?  Go for it!  Don’t wait.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

