My Next Project

I’m still cleaning up some formatting issues for Veiled Mirror, but soon that will be done.  Then what?  Oh, I’ll have to review the gallies, but that won’t take more than a week.  It’s time to decide on my next project.

I have at least four different books simmering in the back of my head, not to mention a revision of Lightbringer. My choices include a variety of  traditional fantasy elements: faeries, shapeshifters, nomads, and quests; unusual romantic arrangements; trust, betrayal, love, and loss; and a new/old look at werewolves.  (But absolutely no vampires, sparkly or otherwise.)

How to decide?  At least two writer friends have said I should work on something new before I go back to do more revisions, and I’m inclined to agree.  I spent a lot of time revising various manuscripts the last couple of years, so it’s been a while since I’ve written anything new (except for this blog).

I’ve decided to write what calls to my heart, rather than choosing a project that might do the most good for my career.  For one thing, I’m not sure at this early stage that I can know which project will be most successful.  Professional editors don’t always know which book will take off and capture the attention of the reading public, so how can I?  For another, if you’re not writing something you enjoy, the “juice” won’t be there.  I had a hard time with Lightbringer for that very reason.  And third, life is short.  It takes me at least a year to write and revise a full length novel.  If I’m going to spend that much time with the people in my head, I’d better like them.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under writing

Leave a Reply

