Writers are Good People

I had a different topic in mind for today’s post until I read J.A. Konrath’s most recent blog post. He’s interviewing Scott Doornbosch, an author who recently self-published his first novel, Basic Black. I was struck by one of the comments, made by K.D. James:

I’ve seen it over and over again, large scale and small. From writers who give up a precious bit of time for a critique, to those who teach a class and pass along hard-earned pieces of wisdom, to those who offer monetary contributions in a time of need — bottom line, we all have each other’s back. I can’t think of another profession where that is the norm.

I’ve been lucky to work in two professions that are supremely supportive and nurturing: occupational therapy and writing, but I have to agree with K. D. James. The writers I know (and I know a lot of them) are all willing to lend a helping hand. Yes, as in every profession, there are some unhappy and sour curmudgeons, but in my experience they’re the exception. I wouldn’t be anywhere near where I am today without the help, freely given, of other authors.

So here’s the pitch: In case you didn’t click through to Konrath’s blog, Scott is facing a serious medical condition with some serious medical bills. If you’d like to support him, buy his book. It’s available on Nook and Kindle for $2.99 as well as in print.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, writing

Leave a Reply

