My Self-Publishing Journey: Getting Good Information

As you may have gleaned from this blog over time, two of my guiding values are Balance and Perspective. I get nervous when all the information comes from a source that clearly has an axe to grind.  I like reading persuasive arguments that disagree with my preconceived notions — but they have to be balanced and logical, not just full of emotion and bombast. It makes me uneasy when I read an argument that supports my point of view but is not well reasoned.

That’s one reason I keep recommending you read The Passive Voice. Passive Guy is an attorney with years of experience in contract law. Whether you like or dislike the traditional publishing model, Passive Guy’s analysis is invaluable if you plan to sign a contract with a publisher. I recently read Passive Guy’s post “How to Read a Book Contract — Contempt.”  Even though PG calls it a rant and infuses his post with plenty of snark, he has the knowledge to back up his arguments. As much as anything on the Internet, I can trust what he has to say.

Likewise, Kris Rusch.  She’s been in the business for a long time, and she’s talking to a lot of people. She is clearly opinionated, but she is balanced. By that I mean she’s not only focused on indie-publishing. She’s willing to work with traditional publishers as long as the contracts they offer aren’t abusive. She’s also willing to walk away if they are.  Her mantra is:

Writers Are Responsible For Their Own Careers.

Writers Are Professionals.

Writers Are In Business, And Should Behave Like Business People.

When I first started thinking about becoming a publisher (which is what you’re doing when you self-publish), it was hard to let go of the old dream (a fantasy, as it turned out) of having an agent do all the work of selling my book and a publisher do all the work of publishing and marketing it. I grew up with that model. There was a prestige associated with that model. A blessing was conferred when a publisher conceded that you were good enough to join the ranks of the published few.

All snark aside, that model still has weight. There is still some benefit in being traditionally published. That’s why Amanda Hocking signed a contract with St. Martins. They offered her a lot of money and quicker market penetration for her physical books. She made a business decision, not an emotional one.  Just as Barry Eisler did when he made a deal with Amazon’s Publishing arm, and John Locke did when he made the distribution deal with Simon & Schuster.  Business decisions all.  Based on facts.

As impatient as I am to get my work out there, I’m taking time to sample the information swirling around out there, always searching for new sources. The publishing environment is changing daily.  It’s worth it to spend a little of our precious time keeping tabs on it.   To that end I’ll be adding a page to my site in the about two weeks, with links to good information about self-publishing.

I hope the information helps others at it helped me.

8 Comments

Filed under writing

8 responses to “My Self-Publishing Journey: Getting Good Information

  1. I love both Kris, Dean, and PG and keep a constant watch on their sites. I totally agree that we all should own our own careers and act like business people, becasue at the end of the day publishing is a business (be it traditional or indie). Thanks for your insight. I feel like, sometimes, you are reading my mind. Or you have a spy camera!

    • Casey, when I started writing about the personal side of self-publishing, I wasn’t sure if the world needed another blog about SP. But while there was plenty out there about the facts (that are constantly changing), I’d only found a little about the emotional stumbling blocks. I really appreciate hearing from people like you who are taking this journey too. 🙂

  2. Hi Frances, As you know it’s hard to read everyone’s blog because there are so many, but yours as always is filled with information and every time I miss it I’m afraid I missed something important. I’m moving into self-publishing at the moment so I can support myself. There’s no way I’m kidding ‘me,’ that I don’t want a solid traditional publishing career. I do. But I have to live in the meantime and it’s nice to have such knowledgeable footsteps to follow.

  3. I usually take pleasure in reading other people’s takes on things especially if they differ from what preconceived ideas.
    I agree on you saying that reading logical arguments completing from yours is better that something that supports your ideas but is not well reasoned out.
    In connection with venturing in self publishing, it is always best to take a lot insights from people who have been there. I think reading about their experiences and their take about it is a good way to verify your preconceived ideas about self publishing and also one way of expanding your knowledge.

Leave a Reply

