My Self-Publishing Journey: The Sound Track

Some lovers give flowers to their sweethearts. Others leave little love notes where their significant other will find them. My dear husband has taken to bringing me the lyrics to songs that evoke the characters in my books.

Today’s post includes two songs that could be about the emotional motivation behind the decision to self-publish.

 

As my DH says. Self-publishers are the ones traditional publishing can’t control.

 

 

I don’t know where Hoobastank got its name from, but I like the way this song ends. I don’t want to waste my  time and energy vilifying traditional publishing.  (I don’t consider reporting the truth, as Kris Rusch, Dean Wesley Smith, and the Passive Voice do vilification.)  Don’t hate. Become the first of you.

6 Comments

Filed under Life, writing

6 responses to “My Self-Publishing Journey: The Sound Track

  1. Hi Frankie, I have music too for my characters. Since most of them are men, they all seems to like angry metal (which I don’t normally listen to). I do have one male character who enjoys Elton John, Linkin’ Park and Distrubed. Go figure!

  2. Though I didn’t think about that aspect before deciding to self-publish, now that I have, I love the freedom of writing what I want without worrying about the market or what a publisher wants. My writing exudes. I don’t produce it from mathematical equasions.

  3. I agree with Kate. The most liberating part of going indie is finally really truly writing what comes from the heart! Being able to tell the story you want to tell makes all the difference. My quality seems to improve with every succeeding publication because I’m writing from the heart, not from a formula. 🙂
    I love the look of your blog BTW. Very nice. 🙂

    • Thanks, Regina! It took me a while, but I’m finally happy with the way the site looks.

      I feel like the quality of my work is improving too. I’m getting positive feedback from my critique partners, anyway! 🙂

Leave a Reply

