My Self-Publishing Journey: Paper!

The final step in the Publishing part of my first Self-Pub Journey is almost here. On Thursday, November 10, LIGHTBRINGER will be available in print on Amazon, just in time for TusCon, my local science-fiction, fantasy, and horror convention.

While I do believe that digital is the way of the future, it still only accounts for about 20% of the market. And though most self-publishing authors make more sales from digital downloads than from physical books, there are still a lot of folks out there who prefer paper. So I wanted to give them a chance to read LIGHTBRINGER too. And to be honest, there is a definite satisfaction associated with being able to hold up a beautifully designed book at a convention and say, “This is mine!” 🙂

You’ll note that I wrote this is the final step of the publishing part of this journey. It’s by no means the final step overall. Following on from this is the need for marketing. Word of mouth sells books, but folks need to know about the books before they can talk about them. While I do believe that writing the next book is my most important task, I also intend to contact book reviewers. As a publisher, that’s part of my job.

In six months I’ll share with you what I did to promote my book(s) and what my sales have been. I probably won’t have pretty graphs as David Gaughran does, but I’ll let you know what the numbers are and what conclusions I draw from them about the effectiveness of my efforts.

*****************************

The drawing for a free autographed copy of one of my books is still active! Leave a review of LIGHTBRINGER or VEILED MIRROR (good, bad, or indifferent) at whichever online store you purchased it from, and on December 1st your name will go into a drawing for an autographed copy of one of my print books (including DANGEROUS TALENTS which will be out by May of next year.) I’ll be drawing four names. (Assuming I have at least four reviews! :-))

*****************************

On Wednesday Roxy Rogers will be guest blogging here about her publishing journey.  Roxy writes erotic romance with a science-fiction/fantasy twist and her short “Be Careful What You Wish For” is available now for Kindle.

4 Comments

Filed under Publishing

4 responses to “My Self-Publishing Journey: Paper!

  1. FWIW, the paper edition of my collection has so far well outsold the electronic forms. Admittedly, that’s with less than three weeks of data, but it still startles me.

    —L.

    • Larry, that’s good to know. I like the simple and elegant design of your collection. And as old-fashioned as it sounds, I find there is a tactile pleasure in holding a slender volume of poetry in my hands.

  2. It’s so exciting I can’t wait to see how the promotion goes.

Leave a Reply

