TusCon Science-Fiction Convention Starts Tomorrow!

TusCon Science-fiction, Fantasy, and Horror Convention starts tomorrow. It’s my home-town convention and I’ve been involved with organizing it for many years. This year I’m working as the Guest of Honor liaison, so I have the honor of picking up Patricia Briggs at the airport today. Patricia is the NY Times bestselling author of the Mercy Thompson urban fantasy series as well as a number of popular high fantasy novels. I love her books, so this is a big thrill.

TusCon is also giving me another opportunity to promote my own work. I’ll be on a couple of panels, reading from my WIP, and signing in the mass autograph session. I’ve done all this before, but this year I have books to sign.

This morning my order of LIGHTBRINGER was delivered. I am beyond thrilled. Not only did it get here in time for the convention, but it looks fabulous! Because of the short time frame, I wasn’t able to order a second proof after a few minor changes were made. I kept telling myself that it would be fine, and fortunately that pep-talk proved to be prophetic. Are there still `changes I would make? Is there a craftsman alive that can’t point out every little flaw in the cabinet he made? But I’ll keep my mouth shut except to smile, because nothing anywhere is ever perfect.

That brings me around to the topic of yesterday’s guest blog: vendors. They don’t always work on your time schedule. My formatter for the interior layout of the POD version ran into some family issues, and was two weeks late getting me the first version of the PDF. That set the whole print production back. I barely had time to upload, order a first proof, have it delivered (expensively) overnight, get changes, upload again, and order books. Fortunately, both the cover artist, Kim Killion, and the interior formater, Cheryl Perez, came through within hours of receiving my email asking for changes.

Publishing LIGHTBRINGER  has been on the job training. In the future I will do my best to allow lots and lots of extra time so I’m not sweating bullets about whether the books will arrive in time. Life happens and most vendors are sole proprietors of their businesses. Many are women, responsible for sick kids and other time consuming events.

Amazon however takes 5 – 7 business days to get the product page up (I uploaded it on Saturday), so you’ll have to wait a few more days to order the print version of LIGHTBRINGER.

BTW, when you leave a review (good, bad, or indifferent) of either LIGHTBRINGER  or VEILED MIRROR, your name will be entered into a drawing for an autographed copy of either of these books, or DANGEROUS TALENTS which will be out in May (your choice). Winners (4) will be drawn December 1st.

 

4 Comments

Filed under Publishing

4 responses to “TusCon Science-Fiction Convention Starts Tomorrow!

  1. You lucky girl! Patricia Briggs! That is so cool. Have a great time.

  2. I’m so bummed that I can’t go! There is an insane amount of things happening this weekend and I’ll be out of town for half of it.

Leave a Reply

