Start Planning Now For 2013

I know that’s not what you want to hear right now. You’re in the throes of buying holiday gifts, decorating, making the rounds of parties, and hosting guests. You’d rather wait until January to make plans for 2013. But after all the ribbons and candles are put away, you’ll want to hit the ground running, and that will be easier to do if you already have a plan. It doesn’t have to be rigid or too detailed. In fact, I think it’s better to leave it a little loose because as we all know, Life Happens. But in the end you’ll be happier with where you wind up if you know where you’re going.

One of the things already on my calendar for 2013 is a class I’m teaching for WriterUniv.com. As I’ve mentioned elsewhere, co-founder Laurie Campbell asked me to teach a class called “Before You Indie Publish” next March. I have the lessons completed already, and I’m putting together a companion book (BLAZING A TRAIL: YOUR SELF PUBLISHING JOURNEY) with additional material. That’s almost done, too, and will be released in late February or early March. I’ll be finishing the production process for that in January and February. (BTW, I’m including an appendix of interviews of indie authors. If you’ve self-published at least five months ago and would like to have your perspective included, please contact me.)

I’m also talking at the Tucson Festival of Books next March. First, I’m on a panel titled, “50 Shades of What? Is Erotica Romance?” and the next day I’ll be on a panel about blending genres.

I’ll be releasing BETRAYED BY TRUST early in the year, too. (BBT is set in 1979 and in the same “universe” as LIGHTBRINGER.)

After that, I’ll be working on GUARDIAN, the sequel to LIGHTBRINGER. I’m really looking forward to writing fiction again, but I may take a couple of weeks off to catch my breath.

What do you have planned for next year?

2 Comments

Filed under Publishing, writing

2 responses to “Start Planning Now For 2013

  1. I’ll admit that I’m too stressed over getting things done–including my first indie-published book–to be giving much thought to next year yet. I’m hoping to get that book published before Christmas, but that goal has me squeezed on time for Christmas preparations.
    I have, however, followed a few blogs that give ideas for planning next year and I’m going to take a good look at those posts between Christmas and New Year’s. I belong to a goal-setting group, so I have to post something by New Year’s Day.
    I’d like to publish two novels next year. One will definitely be the sequel to my current WIP. The second will either be book three, the first of a different mystery series, or–totally different for me–a time-travel romance I’ve been noodling in my head for a while.
    Then there’s all the other stuff that goes with being a writer: business details, promotion, participation in writing groups, and on and on and on.
    Oh, and last, but certainly not least, planning my exact retirement date, which will be no later than December 31, 2013, but might be earlier. That’s why I have to plan. 🙂

    • Good luck Elise, on getting your book published! Be sure to let me know when it comes out.

      The fact that you’re already a goal setter puts you ahead of the game. Just be sure to plan on having fun while you’re at it.

Leave a Reply

