Welcome to THIS IS TRUE Readers!

Welcome new readers!

As part of my Christmas present, my husband bought an ad in the THIS IS TRUE newsletter edited by Randy Cassingham.  For those who don’t know, THIS IS TRUE is a collection of stories demonstrating the quirks, foibles, and missteps of humanity. Brian has subscribed for a number of years, and he’s convinced that the highly intelligent subscribers of THIS IS TRUE will enjoy my flavor of romantic fiction. 🙂

http://www.dreamstime.com/-image8529767I’m currently putting together a non-fiction book about the decisions an author faces in self-publishing and what can be expected in the first year. (This is a companion book to “Before You Indie Publish” a class I’m teaching for WriterUniv.com in March.) In addition to my observations,  BLAZING A TRAIL: YOUR SELF PUBLISHING JOURNEY will include several interviews with other indie authors. One of the questions they answer is what has proven to be most and least effective in getting the word out about their books. One author specifically said that advertising had been the least effective of her efforts. I’m looking forward to seeing how well paid advertising works for me. This series of ads (they’ll appear in three issues) will only provide limited data, but it’s still valuable information.

In the meantime, welcome to my blog! I hope you enjoy what you’ve found here. Please leave a comment to let me know you visited. And if you’ve ever used paid advertising, I’d love to hear about your experience.

Happy New Year!

 

5 Comments

Filed under Publishing

5 responses to “Welcome to THIS IS TRUE Readers!

  1. Hi, Frankie. I love getting updates on your blog, which I follow closely. I’ve been a bit buried under things around here, so haven’t commented often, but I do really enjoy your posts. I’m excited over your new book on Indie Publishing, and I plan to order it as soon as it’s available. In the meantime, I’m finally getting back to checking out your fiction. Is there an order in which any of the books needs to be read, or are they all stand alone stories? I was planning to start with Dangerous Talents and Lightbringer. Good idea, or is there a better approach?

    Thanks again for such an interesting blog, and I’m looking forward to reading your work. Have a great day, and hope 2013 brings you continued success in every way!

    • Hi Marcia! Thanks so much for the kind words! DANGEROUS TALENTS is the first book of the Vinlanders’ Saga, followed by FORBIDDEN TALENTS. They each stand alone but I think you’ll enjoy FT more if you read it after DT. LIGHTBRINGER is the first book in the Celestial Affairs series, and WITH HEART TO HEAR is a novelette that stands by itself (so far, anyway!)

      I look forward to hearing what you think of my books, and if it’s convenient, I’d love it if you could leave a review on Amazon.

      Thanks for reading!

      • Thanks for the information. I’m ordering Dangerous Talents as soon as I finish this response. I’m looking forward to reading it, and I will review it on Bookin’ It, for sure, and then on amazon. I don’t usually read pure “fantasy,” but I want to give your books a try. The Celestial Affairs series sounds like it might be closer to my normal genres, so I’m going to check that one out, as well.

        I appreciate the input, and I’m really looking forward to your book on publishing. Good luck with that one!

  2. A.M. Starratt

    For what it is worth, I have visited your website after reading the ad in |THIS IS TRUE. Alas, my library does not carry your books.

    • Thanks for coming over to my website and looking around. My books are available for libraries to order, but they often have very restricted budgets. I do hope you’ll have the opportunity to read my books in the future.

Leave a Reply

