BLAZING A TRAIL Interviews: Dennis L. McKiernan

http://www.dreamstime.com/-image8529767Dennis L. McKiernan is the next author I’m featuring from the author interviews in BLAZING A TRAIL: Your Self Publishing Journey.

Dennis L. McKiernan is the author of numerous traditionally published fantasy novels.  AT THE EDGE OF THE FOREST, a paranormal romance mystery adventure, is his first Indie release. His website is http://Mithgar.com

Tell us a little about your background and publishing history.

Author of the Mithgar series, the Faery series, and other works, a total of some 22 novels, two short story collections, and some 20 or so individual short stories in various anthologies.

If you published with a traditional publisher before self-publishing, do you think having a following helped your Indie sales? Why or why not?

I have no idea since I just recently released the Indie AT THE EDGE OF THE FOREST.

What led to your decision to self-publish?

No publisher was willing to take a chance on a book they considered outside my usual epic fantasy genre.

How long have you been self-publishing?

Since September 2012.

What were your goals when you began, and how have they changed since then? How do you measure success?

When I began, my goal was to write the kind of book I would like to read. After it was finished, I thought it might be good enough to be published. Turns out I was right. Then the publisher (Doubleday) asked for more. Eventually, I switched to Penguin/Roc, mainly because of the terms they agreed to. That was when I first started, but now, even though there are additional things I would like to do, I measure success by asking myself “Is life good? Am I content?” In other words, if I died today, I think I would leave a legacy in the form of a body of work.

Did you do a lot of the production process yourself, or did you hire people to do it for you? Were you satisfied with the outcome?

I did all the work myself, and I am greatly satisfied with the outcome. I do plan on releasing more “out of my genre” novels, and I will do all the production work myself.

How have you spread the word about your work?

Announced it on Facebook, Twitter, and some message boards originated and dedicated by fans to my work. Will speak up during various conventions (haven’t yet attended any after the publication of my Indie work).

What has been the most effective thing you have done to promote your books? What has been the least effective?

I haven’t the foggiest.

How did your Indie sales evolve? What should a new Indie author expect?

Not enough time has passed to see any evolution.

What influenced your decision to price your books as you did?

A general idea as to what other books were selling for.

What are your top tips for new Indie authors? What do you wish you had known before you started?

Top tip: have fun. I wish I had known how much fun it would be. Another tip: Google any proposed “publisher” name that you might have in mind for your own imprint.

Any other thoughts you’d like to share?

Be thoroughly professional. And by that I mean, put out high quality work, be a gentleman or lady to your fans and anyone you have business with (in spite of the fact that you might want to strangle some of them).

Leave a comment

Filed under Guest Post, Publishing

Leave a Reply

